RESOLUTION 2022-12

RESOLUTION APPROVING PARTICIPATION IN THE ONEOHIO REGION 18 GOVERNANCE STRUCTURE UNDER THE ONEOHIO MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING

It was moved by Council Member Ryan Shoemaker and seconded by Council Member Ray Brewer that the following Resolution be adopted:

WHEREAS, Village of Fredericktown ("Jurisdiction"), is a Local Government in Knox County, Ohio that has adopted and approved The OneOhio Memorandum of Understanding ("The Memorandum"), attached hereto as **Exhibit A**, which establishes a mechanism to disburse settlement proceeds from opioid litigation ("Opioid Funds") into Ohio's communities to help abate the opioid crisis, including allocation of Opioid Funds to Regions through a statewide Foundation Board; and

WHEREAS, this Jurisdiction is in **Region 18** under The Memorandum, which is comprised of Delaware, Fairfield, Knox, Licking, Marion, Morrow and Union counties; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to The Memorandum, Section D.2: "Each Region shall create their own governance structure, so it ensures all Local Governments have input and equitable representation regarding regional decisions including representation on the board and selection of projects to be funded from the region's Regional Share. Regions shall have the responsibility to make submissions regarding the allocation of funds to projects that will equitably serve the needs of the entire Region; and

WHEREAS, it is found that the Region 18 governance structure outlined below ensures that all Local Governments in the Region have input and equitable representation regarding regional decisions under The Memorandum; and

WHEREAS, the formation of the Region 18 governance structure is of immediate importance to the communities in Region 18, so that imminent Settlement Proceeds committed to the State of Ohio to be distributed per The Memorandum can be disbursed to help abate the Opioid crisis.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by this Jurisdiction that:

<u>Section 1</u>. This Jurisdiction hereby approves participation in the Region 18 governance structure under The OneOhio Memorandum of Understanding ("The Memorandum") as follows:

- A. The **OneOhio Region 18** governance structure will be comprised of a Board of seven members, consisting of one member from each of the seven counties in Region 18:
 - Delaware
 Fairfield
 Morrow
 Knox
 Union
 - 4. Licking

and such other members as are unanimously approved by the Region 18 Board members from time-to-time.

- B. The Local Governments in each of these respective counties may select a person or committee to make determinations as to their county's participation and vote as to Region 18 matters, such as:
 - 1. appointing their county's representative to the Region 18 Board;
 - 2. adopting or amending Region 18 bylaws, regulations, rules and policies;
 - 3. selecting Region 18's member on the OneOhio Recovery Foundation, Inc. board ("Foundation Board") under Section D.4. of The Memorandum;

- 4. evaluating and making submissions regarding the allocation of Regional funds throughout the Region;
- 5. engaging experts, counsel, consultants and vendors as appropriate for these purposes; and
- 6. taking other actions consistent with Section D.2 of The Memorandum.
- C. This Jurisdiction hereby approves and authorizes the following committee to make determinations in Section 1.B. of this Resolution on behalf of all Local Governments in Knox County, consistent with Section D.2 of The Memorandum:

Name:	Title:
Teresa Bemiller	Commissioner
Matt Starr	Mayor of Mount Vernon
Dan Humphrey	Morris Township Trustee
Julie Miller	Health Department Commissioner
Carol Grubaugh	Executive Dir. KC Chamber of Commerce
	& Visitor's Bureau

<u>Section 3</u>. It is found and determined that all formal actions of this legislative body relating to the adoption of this Resolution were adopted in an open meeting, and that all deliberations that resulted in such formal action, were in meetings open to the public, in compliance with all legal requirements.

<u>Section 4.</u> This Resolution is hereby declared to be an emergency measure, necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health, welfare and safety. The reason for the emergency is to ensure prompt pursuit of funds to assist in abating the opioid epidemic throughout Ohio.

Vote (indicate yes; no):	
Ray Brewer, yes	
James Hobson, yes	
Mollie de Rojas, yes	
Scott McKnight, yes	
Ryan Shoemaker, yes	
PASSED:	
	Jerry L. Day, Mayor
	ATTEST:
	Suzan Graves Fiscal Officer